© Jens Soemer

Oberode

Short facts

  • Hann. Münden

Oberode gained supra-regional importance in the Middle Ages through its pottery trade.

The restored potter's hut of the last Oberode potter and the exhibition of the local history museum in the community centre also bear witness to the cigar factory that operated in Oberode from 1894 to 1931.

Description of the town's coat of arms: "In red above a silver wavy bar in the base of the shield is a golden potter's wheel with a golden pot. In Oberode, commercial pottery has been practised since time immemorial; the nearby Steinberg supplied the clay. The Werra and Weser raftsmen liked to transport the potters' products, which found a good market because of their quality and attractive decoration, on their journeys downriver to the German and Dutch coastal areas."

The occupational structure has undergone great changes in the last 100 years. Only one full-time farmer is still active in a GbR, along with a few part-time farmers. Almost all of the employed commute to jobs outside of town. They benefit from Oberode's central location between the medium-sized centres of Hann. Münden and Witzenhausen and the larger centres of Kassel and Göttingen.

Oberode, which was formerly an independent municipality until 31 December 1972, became a district of the town of Hann. Münden on 1 January 1973 as part of the territorial and administrative reform, which resulted in many advantages for the once financially weak municipality. The infrastructure underwent considerable improvements, which were completed in 2013 with the inclusion in the village renewal programme in 2000 and the associated road improvements as well as the renovation of the village community centre, which was inaugurated in 1976.

Club life is the cement of the village community. The sports, singing, shooting and pottery clubs have found a home in the community centre and hold their regular practice sessions in the club room of the hall or in the shooting room. The active fire brigade members are another mainstay of the village. In addition to their actual tasks of fire protection, the Easter bonfire and an Oktoberfest are an integral part of village life. The Harmonica Friends of Oberode/Ziegenhagen enrich the cultural programme and contribute to Oberode's positive image with their performances, also outside the village. The parish of Oberode, which is linked to Hedemünden, has a new centre in the Trinitatis Chapel, which was inaugurated in 1964. Regular church services and meetings such as the "Café Trinitatis" take place there.

Oberode currently has about 655 inhabitants and is a really liveable and lovable place.

On the map

Oberode
Untere Dorfstraße
34346 Hann. Münden - Oberode
Deutschland

Phone: +49 5541 / 75313
Fax: +49 5541 / 75404
E-mail:
Website: hann.muenden-erlebnisregion.de/en

Contact person

Hann. Münden Marketing GmbH
Lotzestraße 2
34346 Hann. Münden

Phone: +49 5541 / 75313
Fax: +49 5541 / 75404
E-mail:
Website: hann.muenden-erlebnisregion.de/en

General information

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© Jens Soemer

Oberode

Auf einen Blick

  • Hann. Münden
  • Für Kinder

Durch das Töpferhandwerk erlangte Oberode im Mittelalter überregionale Bedeutung.

Ehemaliges Töpferdorf an der Werra

Die restaurierte Brennhütte des letzten Oberöder Töpfers sowie die Ausstellung des Heimatmuseums im Gemeinschaftshaus geben davon Zeugnis auch von der Zigarrenmanufaktur, die in Oberode von 1894 bis 1931 betrieben wurde.

Ortswappenbeschreibung: "In Rot über silbernem Wellenbalken im Schildfuß eine goldene Töpferscheibe mit goldenem Topf. In Oberode wurde die gewerbliche Töpferei seit altersher betrieben; der nahe Steinberg lieferte den Ton. Die Werra- und Weserflößer beförderten die Erzeugnisse der Töpfer, die wegen ihrer Qualität und ihres reizvollen Dekors guten Absatz fanden, gern auf ihren Fahrten flussabwärts in die deutschen und niederländischen Küstengebiete.“

Die Erwerbsstruktur unterlag in den letzten 100 Jahren großen Veränderungen. Ein einziger Vollerwerbsbauer ist noch in einer GbR tätig, neben einigen Nebenerwerbslandwirten. Fast alle Erwerbstätigen pendeln nach auswärtigen Arbeitsstellen. Hier kommt ihnen die zentrale Lage Oberodes zwischen den Mittelzentren Hann. Münden und Witzenhausen bzw. den Oberzentren Kassel und Göttingen zugute.

Die bis zum 31.12.1972 ehemals selbständige Gemeinde Oberode wurde mit der Gebiets-und Verwaltungsreform ab dem 1.1.1973 ein Ortsteil der Stadt Hann. Münden, woraus viele Vorteile für die einst finanzschwache Gemeinde resultierten.Die Infrastruktur erfuhr erhebliche Verbesserungen, was mit der Aufnahme in das Dorferneuerungsprogramm im Jahre 2000 und den damit verbundenen Straßenausbauarbeiten sowie der Sanierung des 1976 eingeweihten Dorfgemeinschaftshauses im Jahre 2013 ihren vorläufigen Abschluss fand.

Das Vereinsleben ist der Kitt der Dorfgemeinschaft. Sport-,  Gesang-, Schützen- und Töpferverein haben im Gemeinschaftshaus eine Bleibe gefunden und halten ihre regelmäßigen Übungsstunden im Clubraum der Halle bzw. im Schützenraum ab. Die aktiven Feuerwehrkameraden sind eine weitere tragende Säule des Ortes.Neben ihren eigentlichen Aufgaben des Brandschutzes sind das Osterfeuer und ein Oktoberfest ein fester Bestandteil im Dorfleben. Die Mundharmonikafreunde Oberode/Ziegenhagen bereichern das kulturelle Angebot und tragen mit ihren auch auswärtigen Auftritten zum positiven Image Oberodes bei. Die Kirchengemeinde Oberode,die mit Hedemünden verbunden ist, hat mit der 1964 eingeweihten Trinitatis-Kapelle einen neuen Mittelpunkt.Regelmäßige Gottesdienste und Zusammenkünfte wie das „Café Trinitatis“ finden dort statt.

Oberode hat zur Zeit ca. 655 Einwohner und ist ein wirklich lebens- und liebenswerter Ort.

Auf der Karte

Oberode
Untere Dorfstraße
34346 Hann. Münden - Oberode
Deutschland

Tel.: +49 5541 / 75313
Fax: +49 5541 / 75404
E-Mail:
Webseite: hann.muenden-erlebnisregion.de

Ansprechperson

Hann. Münden Marketing GmbH
Lotzestraße 2
34346 Hann. Münden

Tel.: +49 5541 / 75313
Fax: +49 5541 / 75404
E-Mail:
Webseite: hann.muenden-erlebnisregion.de

Allgemeine Informationen

Was möchten Sie als nächstes tun?

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.