© CC-BY | Göttinger Symphonie Orchester

Concert with the Göttingen Symphony Orchestra

In 156 days

Short facts

Göttinger Symphonieorchester

Conductor: Nicholas Milton, Soloist: Ellinor D`Melon - Violin, Programme: Symphonie Espagnole, Jules Massenet: Le Cid: Ballet Music, from which: Aragonaise and Navarraise
Édouard Lalo: Symphonie espagnole op.21, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Symphony No.4 A major op. 90 "Italian"

When listening to the enchantingly sparkling ballet music from Jules Massenet's opera "Le Cid", no one doubts that the opera giant also knew how to produce catchy tunes as a composer of purely instrumental works that resonate right through to the dance floor. Édouard Lalo was denied such success until he wrote his friend, the violin virtuoso and thoroughbred Spaniard Pablo de Sarasate, a highly original mixture of symphony, solo concerto and Iberian folkloric sounds in the form of his "Symphonie Espagnole", which made him a radiant evergreen. Mendelssohn's "Italian" is also still in everyone's ears today: it takes us on a sunny, cheerful and highly melodious journey to Italy.

All dates

On the map

St. Blasiuskirche in Hann. Münden
Ziegelstraße 16
34346 Hann. Münden

Phone: 05541 956532

General information

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.